Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 22nd year! -- 1996-2018

Skateboard Truck Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 1267098 pageviews on this page, 34749067 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 37287212 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263683 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 13365-13389 of 15213 Add your own post! 






Your

ad

here

for

only

$10 per month!



request info



(Requires
12 month pre-pay.
Limited time offer!)
 
Truck Reviews (15213 Posts)
Truck Review
Pinning Spinning Axles
On 9/26/2005 Chris Chaput wrote in from United States  (66.116.nnn.nnn)


Derik, One of the problems with wheels with the rollerskate hubs (.300" spacer) is that they leave so much extra axle room that your locknuts may bottom out where the threads end, instead of on the outer washer/bearing. This problem is compounded when the axle is longer than necessary. I wouldn't however, blame it on "not enough threads" because you want your bearings to rest on as much of the unthreaded axle as possible.

It sounds like you turned your locknut until it bottomed out and it started turning the axle instead of snugging up to the bearing. Adding more washers to the outside is one solution. You may try adding a tall washer next to the hanger, with a speedring next to it, and more speedrings on the other side of the wheel. Using wheels with the .400" spacers is another solution. Once you tighten up both sides all the way, you won't have to worry so much about the axle going anywhere (spinning or not). There is really no place for it to go. If you have a hard time getting the whole system tight without pinching your bearings, you may want to try bearings with precision integrated washers and spacers.

It sounds like you have the first "floating axle" Up Truck. Be Happy!

 
  Rate post 217649 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
UPs
On 9/26/2005 toddc wrote in from United States  (198.39.nnn.nnn)

Is it possible to get these in the USA yet?

 
  Rate post 217647 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
c-flex
On 9/26/2005 hc wrote in from United States  (168.149.nnn.nnn)

http://www.skateboardingsucks.com/archives/2005/09/22/c-flex-innovations/

http://www.cflexinnovations.com/

 
  Rate post 217646 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Uptrucks loose axle issue
On 9/26/2005 Derik wrote in from Germany  (193.7.nnn.nnn)

Hello surfers,

I just mounted a new pair of Uptrucks. When I tried to fix the wheel with the locknuts one axle slipped loose.
I guess because the gravity wheels have spacers smaller than 8 mm. So the locknut came to the end of the thread and the wheel was still loose. I turned a little more - not with brute force, just a little torque - but that turned the axle loose. For the gravity wheels 4 washers for each wheel are required.

This is not what I would call a non slip axle. Has anyone of You guys an idea of how to fix it?

I mean I could fix one nut on one side with locktite and then use two wrenches to turn the screw on the other side. To unmount both wheels I then could pull out the axle. But that's not a cool solution, hm?

Another issue is, that the low profile speedrings have the tendency to disappear into the the axle housing. I placed large washers between the axle housing and the speed washer, that works.

 
  Rate post 217623 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9 Bamboo Bambino - Trackers - 3dm Road Rider Red Cambrias - Purple Skunk
On 9/25/2005 NYC Asphalt Surfer wrote in from United States  (70.19.nnn.nnn)

YES, the wife finally gave in!

It's shipping on Tuesday!!!

HAPPY DAY !!!

 
  Rate post 217609 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Don't make me stop this car!
On 9/25/2005 Mile High Mark wrote in from United States  (206.124.nnn.nnn)

If you kids don't stop arguing, I'll stop this car RIGHT NOW! You kids play nice!

CSU-Dan--Sent you an e-mail with some links for sessions.

 
  Rate post 217595 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Release Dates
On 9/25/2005 Chris Chaput wrote in from United States  (66.116.nnn.nnn)

Wax, Where have I ever, even once, told anyone NOT to buy a truck until until mine are done? Can't find an answer? It's because I have never said it. For the record, I don't have a release date for my trucks, and I've never given one. I'm not going to rush a product to market and make all of the mistakes that SOME vendors are making in design and execution.

You say that "Chris has been blowing smoke up peoples asses forever about his truck designs, yet they have never seemed to make it into production". The only thing up anyone's ass is big green bug - in yours. Is it possible that you make a post about something that you like, without making it an opportunity to slam someone or something that you know absolutely nothing about?

Why would anyone believe anything that comes out of your mouth regarding skateboard equipment? What exactly have you done to make you an expert on what I'm doing here in Hunting Beach? What exactly are your credentials? What have you won? What have you done?

Maybe you get a nice view from the cheap seats on the sidelines of races, but that doesn't give you any insight. You have to be a skater for that. And THAT, you are not. You lack credibility, and trying to bring me down just makes you look all the more ignorant.

My trucks will be done when they're done. People can judge for themselves, the result of my efforts. The last thing in the world that they're going to listen to, is an opinion on them from Wax.

 
  Rate post 217587 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
thanks wax/ MHM
On 9/25/2005 dan@CSU wrote in from United States  (216.17.nnn.nnn)

ha ok every1 chill. thanks for the advice, i ill try the randal DH, i was just curious about the width, as 180 seems to match up persiselg with my board. mile high mark, i'd definetly be intrested in riding with you guys sometime. are you based out of the metro denver area or closer to where i'm at, fort collins? shoot me an e-mail -dan

 
  Rate post 217585 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
trucks and steevie
On 9/25/2005 WAX wrote in from United States  (67.176.nnn.nnn)

Steve...I never said the Slayers or Splitfires were the "last Word" on truck designs...there are more in the works...Mr Chaput has been saying hold on...My trucks will be here soon for a few years now...I am sure Dan would like to skate now, and not wait until Chris's are done...thats why I suggested the readily avaliable Randal DH or the finally ready Radikal DH...Are Chris trucks going to be done soon? come on, you are so close to HB that I am sure you have a hand on the situation

 
  Rate post 217583 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
truckeroo
On 9/24/2005 Steve Collins wrote in from United States  (68.4.nnn.nnn)

Dan, I agree, get the Randal DH 160's (hangers & bases) if you've got to have something more stable right now. They work good for me.

Wax, you're out in Colorado, a long way from Huntington Beach. What makes you so sure you know what's going on out here? Your trucks are good but they're not the last word in truck design.

 
  Rate post 217565 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Randal DH / 180
On 9/24/2005 Mile High Mark wrote in from United States  (206.124.nnn.nnn)

Dan,

Start with the DH 160's. If you want more width, then try the 180mm hangers.

BTW, there's a parking garage session near the Greenwood Village skatepark tomorrow night if you're so inclined.

 
  Rate post 217564 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
DH trucks
On 9/24/2005 Wax wrote in from United States  (67.176.nnn.nnn)

Dan

try Randal Downhills or go for the new Radikal downhills...Chris has been blowing smoke up peoples asses forever about his truck designs, yet they have never seemed to make it into production

 
  Rate post 217562 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
DH baseplate, etc.
On 9/24/2005 dan@CSU wrote in from United States  (216.17.nnn.nnn)

i'm lookin to upgrade from r2 180's to a more race ready setup. i'm on an evo. should i get new randal DH 160's or should i just get a DH baseplate and keep the rest of my 180 setup? pros/cons? OR is chaput comin out with new trucks that i should hold out for?! thanks, -dan

 
  Rate post 217560 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
bigger cushions and spherical bearings
On 9/24/2005 tom t wrote in from Canada  (66.241.nnn.nnn)

I'm learning...why bigger cushions? More turn-ability? Or better return-to-center? And where can I see these spherical bearings you mention?

 
  Rate post 217545 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Short Cushions
On 9/24/2005 Chris P wrote in from United States  (24.10.nnn.nnn)

Short cushions? Well, if you could direct me as to where I may buy some big green cushions, lemme know! :)

 
  Rate post 217531 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Half Empty
On 9/24/2005 Chris Chaput wrote in from United States  (66.116.nnn.nnn)

Your kingpins aren't too long - your cushions are too short!

 
  Rate post 217517 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
also
On 9/24/2005 slim wrote in from United States  (69.106.nnn.nnn)

p.s. you can identify grade-8 bolts in the hardware store by the hash marks on the head of the bolt. If there are six lines, that's grade-8. three lines is a regular grade-5. You can also get big lock nuts like in my picture (and you don't have to get the kingpins as long as those on my trucks - they're a bit on the long side, huh? ha!)

 
  Rate post 217505 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
kingpin
On 9/24/2005 slim wrote in from United States  (69.106.nnn.nnn)

And just incase someone out there is still unclear on it, maybe these pictures will help. My Randal trucks with flipped grade-8 kingpin (and indy red bushings, flat washers):


 
  Rate post 217504 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
kingpins
On 9/24/2005 tom t wrote in from Canada  (66.241.nnn.nnn)

Thanks guys. I get it now.

 
  Rate post 217503 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
flipped logic
On 9/23/2005 peters wrote in from United States  (24.18.nnn.nnn)

In the 'standard' configuration, the highest degree of torque on the pin occurs right where the threads begin -- increasing the likelihood of shearing or snapping. 'Flipped' configuration puts the smooth/strongest part of the pin at that highest stress point, as Mark points out. Note that you typically need to remove the baseplate from the deck to put the kingpin through. Hopefully that's making sense?
jp

 
  Rate post 217487 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
flipped kingpins
On 9/23/2005 peters wrote in from United States  (24.18.nnn.nnn)

Flipping the kingpin means - put the bolt through the truck so that the head is where the nut usually goes and vice versa. This is probably more important even than the grade of bolt. I haven't broken a pin yet in flipped position. I'm curious why Randals aren't just sold with that bolt configuration to start with?

 
  Rate post 217481 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Mile High
On 9/23/2005 tom t wrote in from Canada  (66.241.nnn.nnn)

"...when you're retrofitting the grade-8 kingpins, flip them around so that you adjust the truck via the kingpin nut (as this places the strongest part of the kingpin where the stress is the greatest)."

Can you elaborate? That seems illogical to me.

 
  Rate post 217475 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kingpin Lengths
On 9/22/2005 Chris Chaput wrote in from United States  (66.116.nnn.nnn)

Randal Fuller (one L in Randal, two L's in Fuller) uses TWO DIFFERENT length kingpins for his longboard trucks (and more for streetluge) The R-II series (150mm & 180mm) uses 2 1/2" dome-topped kingpins, and the Downhill truck uses a 2 3/4" dome-topped kingpin. The Dome top is "grind friendly" but is harder to wrench. You can use Grade-8 2 3/4" kingpins in the R-II's and 3" kingpins in the Downhill trucks and put taller cushions on the top. The Grade 8 color is kind of brassy looking. The fine thread of a 3/8" hex headed cap screw for this has 24 threads per inch. Go get 'em.

 
  Rate post 217385 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (1)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
top quality kingpins
On 9/22/2005 Eric T wrote in from United States  (216.210.nnn.nnn)

I posted my knowledge of quality kingpins some time ago in this forum. Use the NCDSA search under "truck reveiws" and type "quality kinpins". The stock Randall R-II kingpins are grade 5 and 2 3/4 inch length. Grade 8 are easy to find at many hardware stores although most only stock 2 1/2 inches or 3 inch lenghts. Good luck.

 
  Rate post 217371 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
randal / kingpins
On 9/22/2005 Mile High Mark wrote in from United States  (69.15.nnn.nnn)

Most decent hardware stores will have grade-8 bolts. They're usually zinc plated in a gold color, and the heads have six lines/marks to indicate the grade. As was previously mentioned, the threading is 3/8-24 tpi, aka "unf." A 2.5" length will work, but 2.75" gives more room for taller top bushings, thicker (flat) washers, etc. For the DH model, we recommend 2.75 or 3.00". And when you're retrofitting the grade-8 kingpins, flip them around so that you adjust the truck via the kingpin nut (as this places the strongest part of the kingpin where the stress is the greatest).

I/we have tons of grade-8's here.

 
  Rate post 217370 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 13365-13389 of 15213 Add your own post! 


Add your own Truck Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 11/18/2018 4:32:50 PM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2018 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC