Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 20th year! -- 1996-2016

Skateboard Wheel Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 838360 pageviews on this page, 32599924 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 34811173 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263584 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 7918-7942 of 7942 Add your own post! 






Your

ad

here

for

only

$10 per month!



request info



(Requires
12 month pre-pay.
Limited time offer!)
 
Wheel Reviews (7942 Posts)
Wheel Review
Xtreme S/S USA 60/75/99.5mm wheels
On 2/17/2017 Jimmy Dettore wrote in from United States  (75.65.nnn.nnn)

I am looking to purchase the Xtreme S/S USA 60/75/99.5 rubber wheels at wholesale prices. Does anyone know where I can buy these wheels wholesale? There might be a finders fee!!

 
  Rate post 345259 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Softness + Slides
On 5/9/2016 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

So,one of my 'old friends' challenged me with the query; "do we ride different wheels for slides?" - or - Can you slide DH/SL wheels? .. Yup, there IS a difference. You can indeed do a competent G.S. or Hybrid/SL run on today's 'slideable' wheels, but those with a grippier wheel will kill you around precise cones. But, going Downhill, can a trickier, sticky wheel actually do better than a "Butter" wheel? The best we could (within our skill-sets) figure was that if you could Slide with control/comfort on a given 6-to-9 % grade hlll, you'd take the tighter line with more average speed. I'd surmise the gap to be larger with a steeper hill. So with a rider using an 85A [or harder] wheel set, you can vanquish someone on 75A-78A wheels with using a Coleman, in part, during turns, and come out ahead of someone 'Gripping' thru the entire arc of the turn, even with wheels of similar diameter.
Sorry, no video (chips taken by local Police), but we ran Rt-123 from the 'Lake' down towards Alstead; Probably the best 3 miles of smooth tar in N.H. (they are, after-all, Republican, thus NO Funds for Roads, schools, medical, socialist crap; Money Goes To Politicians, not, From Them, Here. Most paved roads need no 'speed limit', as the potholes do that anyway for you!

 
  Rate post 345073 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
generic wheel info
On 5/3/2016 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

Adbus, I'm glad I looked that link over before I commented here.

The Picture posted, in regards to wheel shape, is wrong. A rounded lip promotes a release of traction (as in what I asked for on the No-Skool when it was being conceived of), and a squared-off lip adds to grip.

Their info is basically correct, which is nice to see. However, they totally disregard urethane compounds in regards to grip. It used to be that softer equaled stickier, but nowadays, many wheels are made 'soft', but actually a bit slippery, for better slides.

 
  Rate post 345065 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
skateboard wheels
On 5/1/2016 keya wrote in from Indonesia  (202.136.nnn.nnn)

for best skate wheels you need to keep your eye on durometer and diameter of the wheels.

 
  Rate post 345061 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
best skateboard wheels
On 5/1/2016 abdus sabur wrote in from Indonesia  (202.136.nnn.nnn)

Here is the true ancestor of the best skate shoes:more to read click here: http://www.skateboardlab.com

 
  Rate post 345060 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sharks; Round?
On 8/15/2015 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

I finally got to see these up-close, and there is a 'roundness' to them, but the wave pattern hides it, and, in fact, dominates the shape. The 'circle' becomes a series of hoops, tilted at angles, along that wave pattern. To my eye, as a machinist, I'd love to put these on a runout gage! I still don't quite believe they are truly round (and, that, may be hard to confirm by gage, depending on which suface 'groove' is followed/measured!). I guess a go-no/go gage of the right bore might clarify the curvature?

My concern here though is less about the cylindrical roundness (after all, whose wheels are 'true' and round after kikturning, pumping [slalom or LDP], or sliding? Not mine, unless I lathe them!), but the fact that you've got flattened surfaces on four 'corners'. This has to, at certain speeds, set up an oscillation, and since pivot systems like Trucks are sensitive to oscillations (even the ones from your muscle tension), I can see Wobbles occurring without much warning. These aren't as scary as the hard vinyl wheels I saw in K-mart, nor the plastic RKP trucks I see on Wal-Mart Krypto-junk, but I'd prefer that the performance claims had some re-assurances to them.

Shark has yet to reply to a query of mine (via you-tube) on 'how round' these wheels are. I suspect they aren't within a tenth of an inch at the best. Not horrible, as roundness goes, just, um, not round...

 
  Rate post 344777 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Shark Wheels
On 8/14/2015 Surf Skater wrote in from United States  (71.192.nnn.nnn)

Nope PSR, not talking to yourself. I'm still following all the posts here.
Those Shark wheels are crazy looking. They make some pretty remarkable claims about them too, such as they eliminate speed wobbles.

They certainly seem to roll fine in the videos, I cant see anything that would be considered unpredictable in their behavior. Probably just a gimmick, but they claim to have some science to back the design. I'd like to try them out of curiosity. Has anyone here tried them?

 
  Rate post 344775 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sharks, yikes....
On 10/6/2014 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

O.K., I get it, I'm talking to myself here, but maybe a year from now, someone will notice; I'll take that chance.

Shark Wheels; Squared off shaping that, with three cyclold grooves intends to 'regulate' (my word, not theirs) the grip put to the ground by making three channels around the not-quite-round quad-oval shaping of the wheel, thus making slides predictable while, potentially increasing rough-terrain riding speed.

I haven't rode them, only watched the videos; But, I can say this; these are not 'round' by any means, and will do things in an unpredictable manner as compared to the circular shape of a wheel we've know for the last few thousand years. This means what,to us; ? We are now entering an experiment, one not really in our control, but one that if we jump into, will take a toll on us, the experimenters.
I am not saying 'Don't ride these', not yet, as I haven't got on them myself. BUT, my 45 years of riding round wheels on my skateboards, and even lathing oblong ones back to cylindrical form at times, makes me aware that this Ain't Quite Right!
If you choose to use this wheel, do so with caution....

 
  Rate post 344199 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Next Slalom wheel?
On 5/10/2014 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

I'm worried a bit... It seems that 'sliding' has taken a precedence over 'carving' in wheel shapes and formulas. Not that this is a bad thing, as most riders don't use their wheels for racing. BUT, I wonder, if the industry goes Only down this path, will there BE racing, as in, DEVELOPMENT of BETTER stuff, not just 'Stuff'. Having endured the 80's,90's and such, where I had to find ROLLERSKATE QUAD WHEELS to go fast on, I'm skeptical at best as to where wheel shapes are trending. I even had Nersh reject two wheel ideas this last year, one for Better Carving (the faster line IS still one that holds, right?), and one for use in sliding/wet (reversible) that still would grip predictably. 1984 is looming yet again...

 
  Rate post 343782 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Snowy Smith Posting
On 3/6/2014 Gary Smith (NO Relation) wrote in from (41.133.nnn.nnn)

I just read the posting from Snowy Smith and have never read such a lot of crap in my life.......Skateboarding in the 70's in South Africa was a very very small market...I should know I was the 1977 South African Overall Champion (and can prove it with newspaper clippings, photos and magazine articles) and I skated for the "ALPHA" skateboard team which was the best team of that era. Snowy Smith had 'juniors' that won contests but the ALPHA team won all the senior and open division in EVERY contest.
Snowy Smith himself could NOT even ride a skateboard let alone ride in pools and halfpipes and as for being a BMX champion I would like to see that claim proved because I think that is another fabrication of his mind, the same as his claim to have "invented" skateboard parts and am going to find out about the BMX claims and post my findings on this blog.

 
  Rate post 343680 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sk8kings Turbo wheels 70mm and 75mm
On 2/26/2014 Richy Carrasco wrote in from (99.74.nnn.nnn)

Turbos are here and Winning already ! http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v320/sk8kings/Turbo70mm022_zpsef020331.jpg

 
  Rate post 343663 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
buisness offer
On 12/12/2013 SONIA wrote in from (39.45.nnn.nnn)


Dear Sir,

Hello

How are you?

We are manufacturer and exporter all kinds of motorbike Leather and Textile Garments.

Motorbike Suits, Leather jackets, Textiles jacket. Kevlar jeans. Motorbike Gloves etc, Having very skilled workmanship to produce supper quality Products, our motto is “ satisfaction of our respected customers with best quality and reasonable prices”,

We are very interested to start long term business relations with you, if you interested in our any product you can feel free ask us about anything.
For more information please visit our website www.architectsports.co

waiting your prompt reply,


Best Sincere Regards.
Mr.Sohail
Architect sports company
Nekapura, Sialkot, Pakistan

Ph: 0092-52-3542002
Cell: 0092-345-6826168

Email: info@architectsports.co
Website: www.architectsports.co
Skype: architectsports

 
  Rate post 343553 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
What are these wheels--crazy!!
On 6/4/2013 andy wrote in from United States  (68.170.nnn.nnn)

My friend told me to google 'shark wheel kickstarter' and this unreal kickstartr info page came up.

It is insane! Can someone here that is a better boarder than me explain if this is legit?

 
  Rate post 343207 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Wanted Universal Grabbers
On 1/29/2012 stingrayjoe wrote in from United States  (71.2.nnn.nnn)

Wanted: A new old stock pair, or even a set of four Universal "Grabbers" in this color with raised white letters. *I al ready have a set of "Big Grabbers"

Please e-mail me thanks.

 
  Rate post 339729 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
disintegrating ufo's
On 9/30/2011 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

sounds like a wuarentee issue:) i've had old industrial urithane stock dry up and get crumbly ,just tossed it out. It happens; i don't know why.There are quite a few ingrediants in the urithane that makes skateboard wheels , i saw an interview with george powell ,i think he said 15 ingrediants.One of those might be in there to stabilize the material,ufo was a loooong time ago and proabbely very primative. most of my old thane seems uneffected by the last 35 years, i wish i held up as well as my roadriders or sims pure juices,ha ha.

 
  Rate post 337918 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Disintegrating UFOs
On 7/29/2011 Mike M. wrote in from United States  (64.132.nnn.nnn)

A strange phenomenon; the big UFO wheels I had on one of my longboards all turned a different color (from transparent yellow to reddish black mottled and opaque), then literally crumbled and fell apart all by themselves. The board was on a rack with the wheels not in contact with the ground and hadnt been skated in a while. The rack was in a temp. controlled room (normal room temps), and not exposed to direct sun. One day I just found big chunks of wheel under the board and the hubs and bearings sitting almost bare on the trucks. The urethane in the wheel chunks had small air bubbles all through it, in spots the urethans was almost black, and the exposed durfaces were slightly sticky. I know it's not a matter of sheer age, because I still have boards from the 70s with wheels perfectly intact stored on the same rack. Maybe the urethanes chemical compound just destabilized with age? This is weird.....Anyone else seen this?

 
  Rate post 336872 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
search for x-treme wheelz
On 7/15/2011 Martin Wagner wrote in from Germany  (89.13.nnn.nnn)

On 7/19/2005 slxtx wrote in from Germany (212.202.nnn.nnn)

Years ago (2001) a friend from berlin gave a set of 8 ballz to me as a gift.
They worked fine till 2005. Now after i started my own alloy longboard edition i would like to give the joy of smooth gliding to the customers of my SLXTX deck. Six jears ago i stumbled ofer a site that gave the impression that there is a new x_treme wheelz wheel(z). Alloy core, speed record, bla bla. I added it to my favorits, next day computer death, favorits gone! No rememberence of where i got the link!
So please help me, helping my customers to spend (big) money!(how entusiastic i was back then in 2005. Only sold 50 boards)

Greetz from good old germany

Martin Wagner

M-Boardz sinz 1979 every day (age 46 sinz 07062011)

 
  Rate post 336637 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Snowy Smith
On 2/28/2011 Snowy Smith wrote in from South Africa  (41.9.nnn.nnn)

Snowy Smith

If you know anything about Snowy Smith, please let me know.
from a skateboard shop in Durban, and I'm assuming the shop must have belonged to "Snowy Smith", as the wheels are labeled "Snowy Smith Mk II", and it comes complete with half-moon trucks and what I believe to be sealed German bearings.
Seeing wheels of all sizes (Mk I, II and III...all of which looked like progressively bigger, oversized cotton reels.), and being awed by a whole lot of skateboarding enthusiasts.

What would you like to know about me (Snowy Smith)?
I invented and patented most of the parts on the skateboard.
Almost every skateboard manufactured today is using my designs.
I made “The Best” skateboards in the World we also had the World SPEED record 107.4 KPH in the Guinness book of records 1976.
I was the biggest skateboard manufacture in South Africa, if not the World.
I exported all over the World.
My skateboard team (Power Tracks) was the overall winning team in every competition we ever entered including Natal Championships, 5 South African Championships.
I designed and build 5 Skate Parks in South Africa.
Skateboarding was huge in South Africa and the World.
I had the time of my life riding all over South Africa, speed runs, skate parks, swimming pools, riding in huge storm water pipes.
NO I do not ride skateboard anymore.
I later did Moto Cross and then 15 years as a Springbok BMX Cyclist.
I went to 4 World Championships and got into the Finals every time.
I then went to USA and rode in 11 of the biggest BMX championships of the World finishing with 10 Firsts and a fifth.
I came 1st in the ABA BMX World Cup.
984 Trophies in 15 BMX years.


Snowy Smith
South African Skateboard Champion (over 30 year olds)
Designer and manufacturer of the best skateboards in the World, all Snowy Smith skateboard super wide trucks, Power Tracks Boards, Mk I, II and III Snowy Smith Wheels, also Speed Freak World Speed Record wheels.

Cell: 082-964-8877
Cell International: +2782-964-8877
snowy1s at yahoo.com
P.O. Box 3021, Durban,
South Africa,
4000.



 
  Rate post 334403 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Winter wheel
On 1/4/2011 drzilton wrote in from (194.137.nnn.nnn)

2010 www.offshore.fi invented winter sk8board wheel :o http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImJGC3EEWzo

 
  Rate post 333439 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (1)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
68mm G&S Wonker Wheel
On 5/28/2010 d. allgeier wrote in from (74.103.nnn.nnn)

Does anyone have ONE (1) 68mm G&S Wonker wheel in NOS Condition or very light use condition? I need one to complete a set of NOS 68mm G&S Wonkers-if you know of anyone please send them my way darkhorse2 51@verizon.netThanks; Dennis

 
  Rate post 332488 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Seismic Cambrias
On 4/23/2010 bevilacqua wrote in from (80.8.nnn.nnn)

Here is the true ancestor of the Cambria:[img:148udvs6]http://i40.tinypic.com/2yu0ra0.jpg[/img:148udvs6]more to read here:http://sakaroule.blogspot.com

 
  Rate post 332258 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
sector 9 and abec 11 wheel hubs
On 4/13/2010 jeffro wrote in from (121.208.nnn.nnn)

Hi everyoneI am trying to find out the manufacturer who makes the sector 9 wheel hubs on the 81mm wheel. This wheel hub is also used by Abec 11 on 77mm strikers wheel, on their website it says the wheel hub is ss sideset. I need to speak to this manufacturer as I have designed something that fits inside this wheel. This hub looks like a small cog, if anyone has any information at all this will be greatly appreciated. I can also be contacted on jeff@sscapes.co m.au, thanks again.

 
  Rate post 332179 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Wheels not used for skating, but rolling a sheet of glass
On 4/10/2010 seattlejoe wrote in from (75.92.nnn.nnn)

Hey all, As the title says, I'm not going to be using these wheels for skating and i don't think ill even have them mounted to trucks. I want to know your oppinions on what wheels and what bearings would be best for A table I'm building that has a rotating Glass top. the sheet of glass will be supported and ride on the wheels and id like it to be easily rotated , with the finger tips. this is what I'm thinking i need please correct me if I'm off..Wheel Diameter: I know bigger wheels are normally used for rough surfaces, but i think id want them for the rotational speed aspect.as well as a bigger wheel would have a bigger foot print or contact area on the glass so bigger is better?Wheel DUROMETER: My thoughts on this would be The softer wheels would have that gummy type grip on the glass surface that wouldn't allow the glass to slide or push across the wheels instead of rolling in its intended direction. as well as they would make for a quiet ,smoother action on the table top. so softer wheels is best?Wheel Bearings:I understand the ABEC ratings are referring to tolerances in the bearing meaning that there is less gap between races and bearings making for a tighter fit within its self. would that be to say it takes more force to roll the bearing because its so tight.? i don't know why but for some reason I'm thinking that the lower rated bearings would make the table top really easy to spin, and would continue spinning under its own momentum for a longer time, witch is what id like it to do. So...lower abec rating would be better?So anyway, Thank you all for reading and id appreciate any input you all may have.

 
  Rate post 331042 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
What wheel/ Truck combo best suits my pool deck
On 3/25/2010 alex wrote in from (86.133.nnn.nnn)

Hi there, I'm a 44 year old whose belatedly discovered that pool skating is where I wish to concentrate my efforts. I have aquired a Skull Skates (Nomad) deck (partly out of fond memories of my last Alva deck in the 80's), but I am now unsure what set-up would best suit it. In short, I need advice on what "Independant" trucks I should mount (possibly 149's ?), also what wheel diameter I should use. My deck in the 80's used 63mm Bones wheels, but I am now unsure what wheel diameter and width would now best suit this deck.Could anyone recommend a truck/wheel combination for my Bill Danforth deck.I must also stress that I basically need the safest wheel in this environment (although I will be fully padded up).Thank You. P.S. I am a keen slalom rider and wondered if there was any other like minded individuals out there in South Wales (uk).

 
  Rate post 332071 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Seismic Cambrias
On 11/13/2009 m4rc10 wrote in from (189.100.nnn.nnn)

[b:2x18w1fr]Really nice add... Thanks for sharing, Sam!![/b:2x18w1fr]

 
  Rate post 331303 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 7918-7942 of 7942 Add your own post! 


Add your own Wheel Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 2/21/2017 4:16:30 PM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2017 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC