Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 22nd year! -- 1996-2018

Skateboard Deck Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 1193219 pageviews on this page, 34646336 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 37162752 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263682 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 10366-10390 of 10390 Add your own post! 






 
Deck Reviews (10390 Posts)
Deck Review
Gordon + Smith
On 3/24/2016 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

I didn't really know where else to post this (and, 'no', I don't want post section for this, really), but since G+S did more for decks (although, I have loved some of their wheels; wonkers, yo-yos) than almost anyone, I thought this was the best slot...

I only recently read in Concrete Wave of Larry Gordon's passing this January.
I only talked with him,um, twice, but he left me with the impression that whatever I was think of, he'd already thought it through, back when I was in grade school.. That's not a slam, that's a compliment. I have the sense that he knew just what was what, and he strived to make his boards as sensible and robust as he could. I've owned 5 FibreFlexes, and still have two (one is my 9 yr. old daughter's board, a Teamrider), plus a few Warptails and a Foiltail. All of those boards(except Journey's) were skated on really hard, only one broke (car hit it). I have great memories of the places I've skated while on a G+S, and often I'd loan one out if someone needed a board that day. They've very influential boards for me.

So, to the Gordon's, thank you for the boards, and my condolences on Larry's passing.

 
  Rate post 345039 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Quicksilver 4 sale
On 7/30/2015 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

I just saw this on E-bay, a Quicksilver, with early, split-axle Gullwing HPG's (in Gold, w/support brackets for kingpin), and original OJ's on it, in minty shape, a 9.8 outa ten.

$1660, what my Subaru is worth.

It's a bit much, but very nice set-up, museum worthy, so...

 
  Rate post 344757 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Quicksilver
On 6/9/2015 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

Well, Robert, I can't give you one value on that, but, it's Rare, collectible, and was a great board in it's day. For just the deck, in 9/10ths condition, I'd expect to see it value at around $400. Does it have original griptape, and any cool vintage stickers? Those things can up the value a tad (as would the original and/or correct vitage trucks/risers/wheels). Scuffage would be a factor, as it's hard to get scuffs out of the aluminum skins, so subtract a 20% for any ugliness like that. Obviously, a delam would hurt the value, but these were robust boards, and fixable if that has happened.
Don't ebay it without a decent reserve! If you're looking to sell it, maybe consider getting it in a skateboard museum? Cool board to have, wish I still had mine!

 
  Rate post 344717 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Price of a 1977 90 kg quicksilver sims
On 6/7/2015 Robert Love wrote in from (107.212.nnn.nnn)

I recently acquired a 1977 90kg quicksilver sims skateboard deck and need to know the price of it.

 
  Rate post 344712 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Tim Oates/Payaso
On 11/26/2014 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

Mad Stan, I also found that on 'skateboard journal', you can get in touch with Tim Oates on that site, at least in theory...

 
  Rate post 344350 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Payaso
On 11/21/2014 PSR wrote in from United States  (65.96.nnn.nnn)

Mad Stan, the guy you're looking for is Tim Oates. I've no clue if he's in business anymore (it's been ten years since he last got me some Roadie Racers. Those are Awesome freeride/luge wheels, btw. Fat and Sticky!), nor whether he's got any old NOS boards or wheels stashed somewhere.
Below is the most recent post I could find; I 'searched' in the "wheels" forum for Roadie Racers, and Tim had a link/E-mail with that posting.

On 10/18/2004 Tim Oates wrote in from 216.244.xxx.xxx:

HEY PSR.
You should be needing some new Roadies by now?
Contact me for some replacements.
Tim

 
  Rate post 344333 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Payaso Propeller Deck
On 11/20/2014 Mad Stan wrote in from United States  (66.75.nnn.nnn)

Does anyone know where I can find a new or used Payaso Propeller Deck.
I would like to find out any all info on the company or person who make these
boards

 
  Rate post 344331 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Topp's longboard original sidewalk longboard
On 8/30/2012 brian burg wrote in from United States  (166.250.nnn.nnn)

The topps board is the original longboard. It was the most popular longboard in ventura county in the 90's. Then sector 9 came into the scene. I would love to purchase thos board from you to fulfill my adolescent dream of owning one.

 
  Rate post 341898 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Flexdex surf diva mint condition 4 sale
On 2/19/2012 Daniel McPherson wrote in from (173.98.nnn.nnn)

Hi everyone, I have a flexdex surf diva, completely original wheels, trucks, board mint condition all.stickerz perfect if interested contact me I can text you photos, my cell is 517-512-1356

 
  Rate post 339917 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
original custom 45
On 9/28/2011 Keaton Tomlin wrote in from United States  (204.184.nnn.nnn)

If you are wanting to buy the best quality board for your money and you like to bomb some serious hills or cruise and carve or maybe evn some freestyle and great sliding the original custom 45 is the best for your money. i ride it and i would never ride another board.

 
  Rate post 337872 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Jet quality unquestionable
On 4/20/2011 Eric Tokle wrote in from United States  (24.5.nnn.nnn)

A new line coming from the Mastermind behind Abec 11, Retro, Biltin, Reflex, Fyre, Liquid, etc, etc you can bet the new line wont be junk. I had a chance to see a few recently that Chaput himself brought to an event and they look really nice. I followed the man on a couple runs up to about low 40's and his board seemed great. A couple other friends also took runs on them and liked them. If the lower price has you worried than realize these are low tech, but tried and true, plain wood. No fancy composites to jack up the price. Wood is good and I bet Jet decks will soon be seen as one of the best bang for buck rides available for DH, freeride, carving, etc. Chaput has always stood behind the quality of his products and Jet will be no exception. Way before Jet there was Big Red X. My plain wood BRX 40" drop-thru is still as solid as the day I bought it new in Nov, 2003. It has been used plenty and regularly through the years and is still one of my favorites in my quiver!

 
  Rate post 335239 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Jet Decks Questionable
On 4/16/2011 Rus wrote in from Canada  (74.113.nnn.nnn)

I was wondering if anyone has purchased or heard anything about Jet Decks.
This is the website I found them on.

http://www.sk8trip.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?

I was looking into buying one seeing that the price is so cheap for a deck these days. Does anyone know if these boards are of good quality and worth the price? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

 
  Rate post 335155 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
TORGER Johnson?
On 4/12/2011 Stubbs wrote in from United States  (68.94.nnn.nnn)

I'd buy a Torger Johnson drilled for $300.

 
  Rate post 335073 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Troger Johnson Earth Ski deck
On 4/12/2011 tvon wrote in from United States  (207.119.nnn.nnn)

Got a guy who wants $300 for a drilled Troger Johnson deck. It's very clean, doesn't look like it has been ridden much. Is that to much or a steal?

 
  Rate post 335072 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Venom
On 1/31/2011 bobby jimmy wrote in from United States  (71.229.nnn.nnn)

Venom

 
  Rate post 333708 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Rayne hellcat 2009
On 11/17/2010 polocow wrote in from (174.47.nnn.nnn)

So I just recently got a new rayne hellcat and so far I love it. The w concave takes a lil getting used to but other then that its extreamely stable even at 40+ speeds. I do how ever need some new wheels and bushings for my bear trucks. Any suggestions?

 
  Rate post 333314 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
noob
On 7/22/2010 aaronainley wrote in from (67.181.nnn.nnn)

i just started longboarding and i wanted to ask some people that kno what they're doing what board i should buy. i want somethin smooth, probably from 35-40 in. long and good carving. ne tips? -cheers

 
  Rate post 331064 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Flexdex
On 6/21/2010 em-bee wrote in from (76.216.nnn.nnn)

they're still around (with new owners i believe). and in case you're interested: i'm selling one of the 40" kelly slater decks from around 2002. cheers - m

 
  Rate post 332617 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Flexdex
On 6/7/2010 the worm wrote in from (70.179.nnn.nnn)

Does anyone know what happened to the Flexdex line of long boards? I'm getting back into skating and I remember those boards being very smooth and durable.

 
  Rate post 332537 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
topps longboard original sidewalk longboard
On 4/18/2010 rcab85 wrote in from (96.225.nnn.nnn)

hey guys i recently found what i beleive to be a most awesome vintage longboard at a swap meet. The board i bought says on the front topp's ventura california the original sidewalk longboard, but i cant find any info on the board hope someone can tell me what i have here! thing is 4ft 9in long and 11 wide thing is sick.

 
  Rate post 332224 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Rayne Nemesis Dee-Lite
On 3/31/2010 willabong wrote in from (86.23.nnn.nnn)

Mark Short: 'I love my Nemesis Dee-lite, it's the toughest and lightest freeride board ever'[youtube:3697zj34]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OWbTfHbtXE[/youtube:3697zj34]Slide and Die!!

 
  Rate post 332103 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
New Design Concept for Longboard Decks. Have Questions..
On 3/7/2010 designinglongboards wrote in from (68.241.nnn.nnn)

Hello. We are a group of four students who are designing a foldable longboard that will be able to fit in a backpack. We are collecting information to see if any skaters would be interested in buying or using this type of longboard. If you are able, please reply to the questions below.1. Would you buy a foldable longboard? As a board sold separately? As a complete? Or both?2. How much would you pay for the board sold separately? For a complete?3. What is your age?4. Please include any comments, concerns, or suggestions.Thank you for your responses!

 
  Rate post 331990 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
sponsor?
On 2/28/2010 chris_da_bomber2010 wrote in from (68.116.nnn.nnn)

im looking to ride in some unsponsered events but will need a sponser soon i can bomb hills like a champ but dont have the spining dialled in yet...i need new bearings and wheels but i will be a good choice to sponsor anyone want to sponser me. my phone number is 541-761-5675. thanks and have a good day

 
  Rate post 331945 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
The Rayne Timeline
On 2/15/2010 jono wrote in from (140.184.nnn.nnn)

I got the Rayne Timeline about a month ago from Rayne's boxing day sale so it was practically a steal at over 50% off :D The Timeline has turned into my go to board for carving and ripping through the city streets and it pumps like a dream.Check out my [url=http://www.stokedlongboarding.com/rayne-timeline-review:12zaqocu]Rayne Timeline Review[/url:12zaqocu] from my blog.

 
  Rate post 331901 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Tribute to Martin DRAYTON
On 11/2/2009 radikal wrote in from (86.197.nnn.nnn)

what is magic, is to have an answer from you!I'm glad to have this board, I'm still using it in competition, last time it was for the World Cup in Grenoble, in September. I even made the GS with it!Next time I'll see you, I'll make you sign this board!and yes, some boards have soul...David, THE ROE, and myself....WC in Paris, 2007[img:1ys1jziv]http://i40.photobucket& #46;com/albums/e231/valensole/DSCF0909.jpg[/i mg:1ys1jziv]

 
  Rate post 331107 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 10366-10390 of 10390 Add your own post! 


Add your own Deck Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 10/20/2018 2:07:17 AM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2018 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC