Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 20th year! -- 1996-2016

Skateboard Bearing Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 593390 pageviews on this page, 32680888 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 34918103 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263596 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 4952-4976 of 4976 Add your own post! 






Your

ad

here

for

only

$10 per month!



request info



(Requires
12 month pre-pay.
Limited time offer!)
 
Bearing Reviews (4976 Posts)
Bearing Review
Vylent
On 4/15/2012 Sickest Skate Apparel wrote in from United States  (76.20.nnn.nnn)

Check out www.vylent.com for hats, skullcaps, tshirts, and more

 
  Rate post 340473 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
All Weather Full Ceramic Bearing
On 2/27/2012 Aaron wrote in from United States  (24.130.nnn.nnn)

These bearings have no steel parts and double shielded so it makes them great for all weather riding. Not meant for high impact riding. Write me for more info.

 
  Rate post 340018 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Play in the bearings
On 10/7/2011 Doug wrote in from United States  (35.24.nnn.nnn)

Isn't that the same concept that Rock'n'ron uses? The theory that, since ABEC doesn't matter in a skate setting, you can engineer extra play into a skate bearing to allow the bearing to fit securely into any wheel (by expanding or compressing to fit any core)...kinda sounds like what you're getting with the Seismic bearings.

Honestly, they're not worth the extra couple bucks over Biltins to me...I did put some Speed Cream into mine recently, and it did solve the rattling and dry sounds, but I can't speak to how the added viscosity affected the speed since I put 'em in some new wheels.

 
  Rate post 337988 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
i wonder if anybody posts on .... wow
On 9/30/2011 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

i'm gonna stick with my feeling that the siesmics have a bit mor e play than the biltins, could just be my set. The play could make them faster, it could also be the dry lube, wet lube might actually cling with a bit of viscosity to all the inside parts. Seismic wheels also have that weird cut on the inner face of the core(no other wheel has it) the bearings go in really easy,maybe the play is from there. It's been a while ,i don't know if i tried the tektron bearings in my big zigs,nah i definitely didn't, just went straight from a full seismic setup to a full soultrip set up, the siesmic stuff lays discarded in front of my back seat of my car. May have to do some experimenting to test the variables.

 
  Rate post 337919 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Seismic Tektons
On 8/8/2011 Doug wrote in from United States  (69.87.nnn.nnn)

Hey there herbn
I've got some Tektons mounted in some Dregs Labeda wheels, and I haven't seen any play. Over at Silverfish, the biggest complaint seemed to be that the Tektons were in a way "too precise" for most wheel cores; in that the bearings were too wide for some cores.
They're also loud, but I did email Dan at Seismic, and he said that the noise was a product of the extra precision, and the proprietary lube. He didn't specifically say what the lube was, but based on his email and my own observations, I've concluded that it's some sort of 2-part dry lube...similar (but by no means the same) to something one would use on a bike chain. Seismic Dan did recommend re-lubing after a couple weeks of use though.
I like the bearings, but I don't necessarily think they're worth the couple extra bucks over Biltins...if you're into hardcore racing or sliding, then yeah, it might be worth it...But, I'm pretty much a bike path bomber, so I don't think they're worth it for me.

 
  Rate post 337007 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
if a tree falls in the ncdhsa nobody will ever hear it
On 6/22/2011 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

i was gonna ask if anybody has noticed that the new seismic bearings have a bit of play....

 
  Rate post 336268 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
super reds
On 1/12/2010 milehighmark wrote in from (15.243.nnn.nnn)

I wish they'd improve the seal. The gap between the seal and inner race lets a lot of crud in.

 
  Rate post 331705 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
super reds
On 11/5/2009 herbn wrote in from (67.83.nnn.nnn)

fairly new,probabely 25-30 bucks,what's the general consensious here? I've installed a few sets and they seem super smooth ,quiet,most likely fast.

 
  Rate post 330961 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kiss Polymers
On 6/22/2009 Hamm wrote in from United States  (68.105.nnn.nnn)

I got the KISS stuff in a set of Ron's Steel Missles and they are NOTICABLY faster than before.

They were broken-in, clean & freshly lubed prior to me switching to the KISS.

 
  Rate post 320023 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
thank for the reply
On 6/1/2009 GMB105X4 wrote in from United States  (72.192.nnn.nnn)

Granted-I'm by no means a scientist or or is this meant to be an ad. All I'm trying to do let the skateboarding racers know that this product is coming and would like to get some un-bias opinions. All I can say is I'm impressed and from what I have seen and heard so far from all my bro's who tried it, are equally impressive.

 
  Rate post 319226 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Somewhat clearer...
On 5/31/2009 PSR wrote in from United States  (75.68.nnn.nnn)

Yup, it does.
Still, there's the issues (from a 'test' P.O.V., wherein you'd want all things equal, and thus differentials cancelled out) of axle nut tightness, and wear on older components, also maybe cleanliness of the bearings in the test?
Otherwise, what's shown, IF the only differential is Kiss Cote, would be something to consider. So, no offense meant here, just noting what needs clarification, and what some critical thinkers might do to put your product on 'Occam's Razor'. The truth is on one side of that razor, the other stuff falls off the other side...

 
  Rate post 319181 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
KISS COTE VID EQUIPMENT
On 5/30/2009 GMB105X4 wrote in from United States  (72.192.nnn.nnn)

To clarify the equipment used in this video.
standard INDEPENDENT trucks
SWISS CERAMICS BEARINGS
Both wheels have washers on both sides and a bearing spacer
Both are a little over a year old
Both wheels are the new POWELL CHRIS MILLERS SPF
Hope this helps

 
  Rate post 319148 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
K. Cote vid
On 5/30/2009 PSR wrote in from United States  (75.68.nnn.nnn)

I watched the video from the previous link, and this proves what, exactly??
'With or without'; without what?
That'd be my 1st point of inquiry, but, doh, there's a few 'proofs' also missing here.
The drill+wheel starter is a good, reasonably fair means of a test, as are using the same size/make of wheels.
However, not one note of axle tolerances, stopnut tension, speedring washers, bearing spacers, lubrication, whether shields are on any or none of the bearings, nor durometer of the wheels (which could, btw, change the friction of the startup wheel engagement on the drill).
So, if you'll excuse my skepticism, you should at the least, decide what you want to prove, and then also go through a quick checklist of 'variables', and get those cancelled out. Then, you'll have something a bit more tangible to show us.

 
  Rate post 319147 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
are these bearings good
On 5/11/2009 bob wrote in from United Kingdom  (217.44.nnn.nnn)

i gonna get 608z bearing are they these ok, as im new to skating.

 
  Rate post 318258 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Areo-space Bearing cages
On 4/7/2009 Stan Sloan wrote in from United States  (69.19.nnn.nnn)

I am looking for someone who is in competition (looking for an edge), to test my carbon/graphite bearing cages for skate board bearings. I have worked in areo-space for over 30 years and believe that these will triple the performance of any bearing. I am in the process of installing them in (8) abec 7 sealed bearing at this time and will ship them to you FREE for testing. No oil is needed, they self-lubricate as they break-in. I am looking for an honest review; hours used, performance increase; etc. I am looking for someone to work with me on the testing of these cages and stay in contact as we work out anu bugs that might arise. I can be contacted at bearingspacers@gmail.com or from the website bearingspacer.com

 
  Rate post 317016 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Nitro Cermanic Bearings
On 4/5/2009 Big Steve wrote in from United States  (155.13.nnn.nnn)

Nitro Cermanic Bearings. My son has been racing on the Nitro Cermanic Bearings for two years on his street luge and DH board. Awesome bearings. Very easy to clean, extra seals come in the kit along with a bottle of race oil. Wheels seem to roll forever with these bearings. Nitro Cermanic, can't go wrong in my opinion.

 
  Rate post 316913 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
across south america?
On 2/25/2009 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

way down at the bottom there,it takes a couple of hours;)

 
  Rate post 315401 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
10 mm bearing
On 2/17/2009 ross the boss wrote in from Canada  (75.158.nnn.nnn)

Liam Fourie ... what about those 2 sets of skookum bearings you bought off me? stainless and 10mm...have a guy pushing across south america on them right now...http://www.longtreksonskatedecks.moonfruit.com/

 
  Rate post 315099 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
re: rust free
On 1/13/2009 fitz wrote in from Australia  (123.2.nnn.nnn)

roll back a page dude. I wrote up about stainless

 
  Rate post 313839 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
All weather skate bearings
On 1/3/2009 db wrote in from United States  (24.209.nnn.nnn)

Alright I found the answer for myself w/ the help of google, so I thought I would share in case anyone else is interested.
http://www.vxb.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=bearings&Category_Code=Longboard
I have no affiliation w/ this company. They have a lot of ceramic and stainless bearings that I have not seen elsewhere. Thought it might be useful info for this board. I am going w/ a set of all stainless for 19.95

 
  Rate post 313364 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
rust free bearing recomendations?
On 12/27/2008 db wrote in from United States  (24.209.nnn.nnn)

I live in wisconsin and am riding through slush puddles daily. My bones reds are not liking it. Anybody have recomendations on a cheap ceramic / stainless that can handle salty puddles w/out daily cleaning. I of course do not ride my "A" board in the slush and I dont want to spend $100 on a set of bearings, just to go out and trash them. Any suggestions are welcomed. Anyone have some used ceramics you want to sell for cheap?

 
  Rate post 313008 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Ever increasing speed
On 12/10/2008 Jason Mitchell wrote in from United States  (71.196.nnn.nnn)

Nitro X Ceramics are the fastest/longest lasting bearings that I have ever ridden, and I have ridden most mentioned. No reservations since day one. The kits rule and come with everything. I would'nt say it if I did'nt believe it. Mitchell

 
  Rate post 311920 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
MINILOGO
On 12/4/2008 Shane D wrote in from United States  (208.108.nnn.nnn)

if youre buyin new bearings get some minilogos. theyre cheap and ive had em for ever and they still spin like new. theyre the s#@!

 
  Rate post 311656 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
"Rush" brand Titanium Hybrid Ceramic
On 11/22/2008 ian wrote in from United States  (69.235.nnn.nnn)

Rush is not a brand I've heard of before. I'm sorry to say these fancy sounding bearings are as slow as any average cheap bearing.

 
  Rate post 311196 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
high end maintenence
On 10/14/2008 Jake in Monterey wrote in from United States  (75.244.nnn.nnn)

alright so searching for the big name bearings just turned up a lot of info in every direction on which way to go. I've ridden bones reds all my life, but since i started riding again there are some new companies i've only read about (rocknron/oust). So, I know the performance part is mostly personal preference, but I thought the actual maintenece requirements would help me decide better. I'm strapped for work space/tons of time. It's a toss up for nuclear missle ceramics/oust/bones 6/bones ceramics. thanks everybody. (I don't wanna dig up the dead performance horse and beat it again, just so i C.Y.A.)

 
  Rate post 309470 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 4952-4976 of 4976 Add your own post! 


Add your own Bearing Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 3/26/2017 9:53:30 AM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2017 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC