Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 20th year! -- 1996-2016

Skateboard Deck Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 1151286 pageviews on this page, 33566031 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 35974675 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263638 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 10341-10365 of 10390 Add your own post! 






 
Deck Reviews (10390 Posts)
Deck Review
Tribute to Martin DRAYTON
On 11/1/2009 martin d. wrote in from (75.169.nnn.nnn)

Hi there! I'm really happy that the deck has gone to a good home... I'm guessing this was a deck destined for me in 2004, built by the amazing Gareth Roe. By this time however I had designed my own shape, which Gareth had built as a custom foamcore. So I no longer needed the Crossfire that was on order, it was on the new deck that I won the Amateur Tight Slalom Title the next year at the World Champs.Look after that deck, Gareth builds them with magic inside!A bientot,Martin

 
  Rate post 331097 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Tribute to Martin DRAYTON
On 10/31/2009 radikal wrote in from (83.205.nnn.nnn)

Recently, I removed for the first time the grip of my old lovely ROE cross fire.I was stocked when I discovered under the the grip, the name of Martin DRAYTON, a date, and the signature of Mr ROE himself!the first time I met Martin, it was for the slalom world cup in Antibes (France). It was the first time for me access to the final....And Martin drop me out! it was an honnor for me, I had so much respect for that rider!For the litle story, I bought this board brand new in 2005, during the World Cup in Paris, from a pro-rider (I prefer not to say his name, I don't know if he was able to sell this board !)I put a new grip, but I let on it a window to preserve to my eyes this incredible signature!Martin, if you read this post, could you tell me the story of this board?thanks. [img:3g6t6f50]http://i40.photobucket. com/albums/e231/valensole/ROEDRAYTON.jpg[/img :3g6t6f50]

 
  Rate post 330951 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Patend people thinking
On 10/29/2009 griffinsk8 wrote in from (72.207.nnn.nnn)

AxcelspringA skateboard deck formed of laminated layers having increased twisting resistance around its center axis provided by fiber reinforced polymer matrix composite members running along the center axis and cross members extending toward side edges. Side members positioned between pairs of cross members provide additional torque resistance and energy storage for use in springing the board.

 
  Rate post 330928 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 10/18/2009 the stig wrote in from (81.152.nnn.nnn)

Is this what you were wanting SamG!!! [url:3nbhacl5]http://www.foiledconcepts&# 46;com[/url:3nbhacl5] to see more!

 
  Rate post 330798 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/20/2009 goad wrote in from (97.85.nnn.nnn)

FOILED CONCEPTS

 
  Rate post 330325 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/19/2009 gabe wrote in from (86.147.nnn.nnn)

Thanks STIG for the shout out!!! That dude totally knows what FOILED CONCEPTS is all about. I just need to get him out of the surf and get him to skate more often...The STIG is the biggest Board Whore I ever met! Rumor has it that he is sitting on about 50 freaking boards that he needs to shift to pay for his new quiver, airline flights and contests...what a life!

 
  Rate post 330295 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/18/2009 roba wrote in from (86.130.nnn.nnn)

Huh, huh, huh, huh, you said wood! :oops:

 
  Rate post 330289 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/15/2009 the stig wrote in from (86.160.nnn.nnn)

So what stick were you wanting to see...I tried to upload some photos of it but of course the pics of my stick is way to big...and you would have to pay to see it in person...SPORT SOME WOOD!

 
  Rate post 330178 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/14/2009 samg wrote in from (92.24.nnn.nnn)

Show us your wood, Stig![img:37gxamf2]http://farm4.static 6;flickr.com/3321/3552590410_2b516e5417.j pg[/img:37gxamf2][img:37gxamf2]http://farm4&# 46;static.flickr.com/3380/3552552470_641b 3a937d.jpg[/img:37gxamf2] [img:37gxamf2]http://farm3.static.fli ckr.com/2514/3713849969_137de96dfb.jpg[/i mg:37gxamf2]Is this it....?

 
  Rate post 330168 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
the most beautiful boards ever
On 9/7/2009 the stig wrote in from (86.138.nnn.nnn)

FOILED CONCEPTS!

 
  Rate post 330012 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
G&S Steve Cathey and Greg Taie Decks
On 8/29/2009 Dennis Allgeier wrote in from (173.67.nnn.nnn)

Does anyone have or know of someone who has either a G&S Steve Cathey or Greg Taie Model G&S FibreFlex Deck they might be willing to sell? Yes I am always looking for something aren't I? Well these are the last 2 decks that I am actively searching for so since there were not many of these made I am sure they will be quite difficult to find. But if you can help me out, I sure would appreciate it.

 
  Rate post 322746 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
GS Lite Deck
On 8/29/2009 Dennis Allgeier wrote in from (173.67.nnn.nnn)

The search for an NOS GS Lite has ended. A friend in the UK has located me one!!!
And this is the same guy who helped me find a NOS G&S Free Rider. I had never met him before but he has been very helpful and honest in my search for a few outstanding decks for my collection. A BIG THANKS to Laurie from the UK!!!

 
  Rate post 322745 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
GS Lite Deck
On 7/14/2009 Dennis Allgeier wrote in from (173.67.nnn.nnn)

Now does anyone have or know of anyone who may have a G&S FibreFlex GS Lite deck for sale. I am looking for one of those now.
Dennis

 
  Rate post 321140 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
G&S FrdeeRider
On 7/14/2009 Dennis Allgeier wrote in from (173.67.nnn.nnn)

I have found an NOS G&S FibreFlex FreeRider Deck in white-got in from a shop in the UK-those shipping costs are a real bear!
Dennis

 
  Rate post 321139 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hooger Booger
On 7/10/2009 Troy wrote in from United States  (24.46.nnn.nnn)

I had a Hooger Booger Skateboard that I got off one of the snowboard reps years ago. I don't remember how long it was (30"maybe?) but it was wood, had rocker, and was probably my favorite board of all time.
Unfortunately I took it to the local bar (The Alamo in Park City, Ut), was slightly "overserved", and forgot it.
That's the last I ever saw of it.
Don't know how much it's work but I would probably give you a couple hundred bucks although I suspect you could probably get more.

 
  Rate post 320954 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
G&S FF FreeRider Deck
On 7/10/2009 Dennis Allgeier wrote in from (173.67.nnn.nnn)

DOes anyone know the dimension of the G&S FibreFlex Paul Price FreeRider Decks that were released in 2004 I believe. I believe I may have located one in white but need to verify the size with dimensions since I am making an overseas purchase to get one. Can anyone help me out quickly??? I have pictures but new dimensions. Thanks; Dennis

 
  Rate post 320947 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
The current quiver...
On 7/8/2009 Martin wrote in from United States  (216.117.nnn.nnn)

Heres the new quiver just in time for Hood River...both with the new "Crowbar" footstops.

The SLE tight slalom model, 30" with 18-19" wheelbase...

Now joined by the HGS for Hybrid and Giant Slalom, this is a proto the production version will have the integrated tail wedge and some tail concave.

It has 20, 21 & 22" wheelbases to cover all eventualities, 34" x 9.25", stiff flex and pumps like a Sailor on a Saturday Night!

See you at Hood!

Martin.

 
  Rate post 320875 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hooger Booger
On 7/8/2009 Siu wrote in from Switzerland  (77.56.nnn.nnn)

Here's a photo of my Hooger

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2eapgtg&s=5

 
  Rate post 320851 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hooger Booger
On 7/8/2009 Siu wrote in from Switzerland  (77.56.nnn.nnn)

Thanks PSR for the info. I never thought anything about the skateboard but when an avid skater saw it, he almost flipped! He offered me $20.- for it because he was a student. I'm glad that I didn't give it to him.

 
  Rate post 320850 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
k2 Evolution 4
On 7/6/2009 Guy Gadois wrote in from United States  (24.205.nnn.nnn)

I have a k2 evolution 4 up for sale. Amazing carving board. Missing the metal pole and I have replacement wheels on it. The deck and trucks are in great condition. One of the best carvering boards and truck made. Made in Austria for K2 and only available in the US for a couple of years.

-Guy-

 
  Rate post 320781 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hooger Booger
On 7/4/2009 PSR wrote in from United States  (75.68.nnn.nnn)

Siu, that's gotta be a limited-production board. Hooger Booger did only a few years of skateboards (mid 80's into early 90's), and never got them stateside except for the small handful some of their Snowboard Reps had for display purposes. When Scott bought into Hooger ('93?), the skateboards were discontinued. I couldn't place a value (as I've seen Blizzards, Hots, and Pogos fluctuate wildly in value), but you've got a rare one (certainly from a U.S. POV) on your hands!

 
  Rate post 320670 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (1)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Original Hooger Booger Skatebaord
On 7/3/2009 Siu wrote in from Switzerland  (77.56.nnn.nnn)

Does anybody know the the value of an original 1970's Swiss Hooger Booger Skateboard in 'almost' perfect condition; was probably used 3-4 times. Thanks

 
  Rate post 320634 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
early snowboards,as the thread rambles
On 6/20/2009 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

your post reminds me of my earliest snowboard ,a sims, one of the early ptex bottomed boards those had fins,somewhere between burton and winterstiks in technology the velcro bindings were not that precise for carving but they did let me tweak my "japan airs" pretty good. In the second season on the sims and it started to delam so it was time to go to a foam core morrow with edges because one or two ski mountains had opened to snowboards. The think the sims snowboard was the same e glass laminate they used in the snubnosed jaysmiths.

 
  Rate post 319943 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Ventilation required
On 6/19/2009 PSR wrote in from United States  (75.68.nnn.nnn)

Kinda reminds me of Jake, after 'Thaning Backhills by hand, saying they'd out carve ANY snowboard (of the day), not realizing that Wintersticks already had P-tex, metal edges, and sidecut. ;-D


























 
  Rate post 319920 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
maple =birch
On 6/19/2009 herbn wrote in from United States  (67.83.nnn.nnn)

the guy doing the "birdplane" longboards, if you go to his web page he says his boards "are made from 10 ply russian birch also known as hardrock maple" that's a fairly accurate quote, i didn't bother going back there to check the exact wording,but he definitely needs some ventilaton in his graphics studio:)

 
  Rate post 319907 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 10341-10365 of 10390 Add your own post! 


Add your own Deck Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 1/16/2018 12:30:50 PM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2018 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC