Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 20th year! -- 1996-2016

Skateboard Deck Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 1151285 pageviews on this page, 33566029 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 35974673 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263638 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 1-25 of 10390 Add your own post! 






 
Deck Reviews (10390 Posts)
Deck Review
soulcarve longboard
On 6/22/1997 spinny wrote in from ()

Just got the soulcarve downhill twin. This board is so fkn cool. it allows deep carves due to it's wheel cutouts. great flex, also the concave makes it a stable board at fast speeds.
plus i got it cheap thru the buy/sell on this page.

 
  Rate post 474 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
foundation
On 6/20/1997 john maroon wrote in from ()

just by chance i bought a foundation longboard and independent
trucks,with invisible 72mm softies.This board is so much fun.
it is real stable at high speeds and has a fairly tight turning
radious.It by far is one of the best things i have ever treated myself too.

 
  Rate post 472 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
winterstick
On 6/16/1997 chuck wrote in from ()

came complete with Gullwings and Krypto 62. Easy to carve, nice flex, could pump it through turns. Easy to initiate turns.
cool graphics. As good as any sec 9 i ahve seen

 
  Rate post 461 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Evnty
On 6/13/1997 Bomber wrote in from ()

These decks are great they are very smooth and the flex is just right.
my board has 10 plys.Anyone who lives in Kona,Hawaii should check out Big Island Boarders on Alii Drive.

 
  Rate post 453 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
NoSurf Longboards
On 6/12/1997 Troy wrote in from ()

Just rode my first NoSurf longboard!!! 7& ahalf foot long!!!
Almost killed myself in a downhill run. Super flex, super
smooth, super f**kin' fun!I'm hooked.

 
  Rate post 451 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Powell Soul Patrol
On 6/11/1997 Poser wrote in from ()

For those of you who aren't familiar with this
board, it is more of a retro-70s style. 37" long
by 7" wide. Not a great speed-downhill, but it's
the best sidewalk surfer I've ridden. I threw my
old Indy 101s (yeah, the old freestyle trucks) on
this baby with some Krypto 65 78A wheels.
It is a blast! Five, ten, 100 stars, thumbs, etc.

 
  Rate post 443 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
JFH longboards
On 6/11/1997 Jeff wrote in from ()

Personnalized handmade boards with a surf shape and custom old school
paint job on top,made in QUÉBEC, Canada. Very good slalom board,
specially designed for snowboarder of the north country, who want to
ride during summer.JFH made also longboards for windsurfer who want
to put a sail on a skateboard. A masterpiece!
9 & 13 ply 40¨to 5¨long clear sand grip

 
  Rate post 442 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
FLIP LONG BOARDS
On 6/9/1997 DAMON LEAP wrote in from ()

I JUST GOT IT A FEW DAYS AGO. THIS BOARD IS GREAT TO START OUT ON IT IS ABOUT 33" LONG AND 7 TO 8 " WIDE. PERFECT FOR A CRUISE IN THE CITY.

 
  Rate post 439 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Flip LongBoards
On 6/9/1997 Damon Leap wrote in from ()

I JUST GOT THIS BOARD THE OTHER DAY AND IT WORKS GREAT. IT IS GOOD FOR CRUISING BUT A PAIN IN THE BUTT WITH TRICKS. OVER AL IT IS A COOL BAORD.
I THINK EVERYONE WHO LIKES A LONG BOARD THAT IS VERY FLEXABLE SHOULD GET ONE.

 
  Rate post 436 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
NoSurf
On 5/29/1997 david wrote in from ()

they are handmade boards with custom paint jobs made in colorado. they are very smooth, and probably the best cruisin board i have ever road. they are also very cheap.
they almost remind me of riding a 60's single fin longboard surfboard.

 
  Rate post 385 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Dogtown (Scott oaster)
On 5/23/1997 Cosmo wrote in from ()

Rad ass board with a lot of pop and great concave. With 215
and kryptonics the board just flies. I'm glad to see that
are more more bombers out there. I live and ride in S.F.but
for the best bomb we skate down mount Tam under a full moon.
Come out and skate tam some time see our little crew,team rypt
you will be able to us because we are the crazies kids on the
mountain.

 
  Rate post 370 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Powell
On 5/23/1997 Brian wrote in from ()

Nine Ply man, Nine Ply and 50" long is all I've got to say.
Of course she doesn't flex much, but if your lookin for a good cruise, go out and get yourself the longest, widest,
heaviest (about 40 lbs.) board you can find. Give it one good kick and go until the ends of time.

 
  Rate post 368 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Gravity Mini-Hyper Carve
On 5/21/1997 Nick Freeman wrote in from ()

The gravity mini-hyper carve is the best board i've ever used
It feels just like a surfboard and can be used as a crosstrainer
when there are no waves. It's the best for hang ten's, 180 and 360
power slides, and is really phat in pools, halfpipes, etc..
If you're a surfer, you have to get this board.

 
  Rate post 362 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
BLACK 29 Longboards
On 5/5/1997 R.A. wrote in from ()

GREAT RIDE! Though new to the market, BLACK 29 is making KILLER longboards!
Total style & quality. While visiting So. Cal. I bought 2 of the decks they sell. All
are truly classic surf shapes - from the nose to the tail - you can
see these guys' surfing background. They are truly classic shapes.
I picked up a "Swallowtail" and a " Diamond Tip". Eventually I'll
get the "Blunt" deck as well. Surfers will groove on the shapes & classic lines.
and anyone that spends $500+ on surf or snowboard gear because they
demand quality, will see the quality in these boards.
Good job BLACK 29 ! The Old School salutes you!

 
  Rate post 302 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
sector 9 Cosmic Rider
On 4/23/1997 Pete Bordin wrote in from ()

very flexable and also very sustainable. Easy to rip good
turning radius with this board and has little or no wheel bite at all.
great for bottomed out stunts or greatly steep and prolonging slopes.
holds well and while shorter than most boards, it is very easy to control.
the board can be purchased with a tail or without a tail for a more laidback classic style of riding.

 
  Rate post 267 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
BACKBONE BOARDS
On 3/28/1997 MIKE FOX wrote in from ()

THESE BOARDS ARE THE SICKEST BOARDS I HAVE
EVER RIDDEN. AT 54" LONG ,AND CUT OUTS FRONT AND REAR,RANDAL SPEED TRUCKS, PAYASO WHEELS,AND BONES BEARINGS, THIS BOARD IS
HIGH PERFORMANCE. UPON REACHING 50 MPH OR SO, THE THING HANDLES LIKE A 67' CADILAC .I'M
TOTALLY IMPRESSED BY THIS PRODUCT AND ANY
ONE WHO LIKES EXTREME DOWNHILL SHOULD
CKECK OUT THESE BOARDS!!!!!!!

 
  Rate post 192 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9 pintail
On 3/6/1997 Mikkel wrote in from ()

The Sector 9 Pintail is a great board. It is slightly flexy
and is a great carving board. I recomend this board to
everyone who likes to cruise or carve!! This is a great
board!!

 
  Rate post 152 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9
On 2/6/1997 Tom Forquer wrote in from ()

The Sector 9, cloud 9 model is a rad board. It is 46" and is very good in all conditions. It's enormous flexibility makes it possible to make little rippin carves at low speeds. It also has an excellent sweet spot right in front of the rear truck. If you're gonna get a board get this one because it'g good for both downhill and flat areas

 
  Rate post 131 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Powell "Pele" 50"
On 1/23/1997 Richard wrote in from ()

Nice cruising board, aroung 10" wide and with a full tail with slight kick. It is very rigid and ideal surf style cruiser, nose wheelies and walking the board are a breeze.

 
  Rate post 117 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Foundation Racing Stripe
On 1/22/1997 Michael Brooke wrote in from ()

This concave 48" with kicktail is a
very good all round longboard. Besides cruising,
I have taken it on half pipes and quarter pipes,
pulled g turns with it and manage the occasional kick
flip on a ramp.

I would recommend this to anyone interested in blending
freestyle skating with longboarding. You can cruise nicely
with this deck, but you can also pull some pretty wild stunts.

 
  Rate post 114 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9 Downhill
On 1/22/1997 Michael Brooke wrote in from ()

While the sight of the tail can be a little overwhelming
at firstthe Downhill model provides riders with a great
response and little to no wheel rub. At 48", the deck
is a suitable length but at least 6 of those inches are
tapered.


The craftsmanship is readily apparent and I am able to
crank out some great lines with this board.
I find this one solid cruising machine.Highly recommended.

 
  Rate post 113 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Powell No Ka Oi
On 1/21/1997 Paul wrote in from ()

This is a nice board to cruise boulevards on. It is big and stable, but it isn't good for carving and downhilling. It is very wheelbit-sensitive and you'll need loads of risers. It has an angled kicktail which you'll need a lot to make the tighter turns. A goo surf-style cruise on a sunny day.

 
  Rate post 108 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Deplo Skateboard
On 1/21/1997 Paul wrote in from ()

I like this Deplo Longboard. It is not as long as most boards and it is pretty stiff, which makes it the most responsive board I ever rode.
It has an excellent design, I have almost no wheelbite with only one riser (I don't like 'riding high').
The board's strongest point is how it carves at high speed. Very clean and tight without compromising turning radius at low speed. It carves and turns so well that I almost never have to use the kicktail.
This is an excellent allround board, it looks classic but it rides revolutionary. Check out http://www.netcom.com/~deplo for the dimensions and stuff.

 
  Rate post 107 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Powerhouse 60"
On 12/31/1996 Todd Carlson wrote in from ()

An excellent longboard for the bigger rider. Available in
5/8 and 3/4 inch thickness. At 180 lbs, I chose the 3/4 and
have a quick turning ridgid board. I prefer no flex. Guess I'm weird.
The board has cut-outs front and rear that work well, even with
the Gravity wheels I put on the board.(I had gravity install their
speedometer, so I had to use their wheels also - still prefer
the 70mm Krypts.) 60 Incher comes with Invader truck that measure 7.5"
between the wheels-excellent also. Great board for cruising flatlands
or hill bombing. Wide radius turns a drawbackat first but later
allows for a fuller, harder pump. Good looking blue stain/gray stripe finish also.

 
  Rate post 84 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Interstate 50"
On 12/7/1996 adam wrote in from ()

Nice flex even for my 190lbs. Wide enough for big feet but the wheel cutouts, especially the rears, aren't large enough. I needed to use 1/2" riser blocks to clear Kryptonic C70's on Indy 215s.

 
  Rate post 1 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 1-25 of 10390 Add your own post! 


Add your own Deck Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 1/16/2018 12:30:32 PM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2018 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC