Jason Mitchell, Seismic Nationals 2007, Hybrid Slalom.  Photo by Greg Fadell Northern California Downhill Skateboarding Association
Now in our 22nd year! -- 1996-2018

Skateboard Wheel Reviews

 
HOME: Home  
EQUIPMENT: Decks   Trucks   Wheels   Bearings   Completes   Misc Equipment   Home Made Boards   Vintage Gear  
VENDORS: Vendor's Corner   Buy-Sell-Trade   Skate Shops   Our Advertisers  
DISCIPLINES: Slalom   Cyber Slalom   Speedboarding   Soulriding   Pools & Parks   Banks & Ditches   Freestyle   Buttboarding   Street Luge   Skatecar   All-Terrain   Sandboarding   Riding Techniques   Sidewalk Surfing   Longboarding   Freecarving   Distance & LDP   Sliding & Stopping   High Jump  
GROUPS: Womens   Juniors & Teens   Masters 45+   Shoe Buddies  
Q&A: Race School   GANG OF GERMANY   Slalom Pro Mike Maysey   The Gong Show with Kenny 'Nature Boy' Mollica   Michael Brooke - Publisher, Concrete Wave Magazine   McKendry on Speed   Cliff Coleman on Sliding and Safety   HACKETT & OLSON on RIDING   Going Downhill with David Rogers   Chris Yandall on Skogging  
ORGS: California Republic Stand Up   GSI   IGSA   ISSA   TSR   COSS   UKSSA   DHB   Coast   CSA   SRA   NorCal   ASSA   Tex   Other  
REGIONAL: CAN   UK   EU   Brazil   Asia/Pacific   South America   Africa  
SAFETY: Dr David Hartman on Head Injuries   Crashing   Riding Safety   Safety Equipment   Join the No Helmet Campaign!  
GATHERINGS: Contest Calendar   Events   The Trap   Cyber Slalom Challenge   Cyber Slalom HOF   SAA  
IMAGES: Pics   Pics Preview   Video   Scans  
INFO: Skateboard History   Lords of Dogtown Movie   Skateboarding Law   Riding Locations   Bulletin Board   Interviews   Guest Book   Links  
TOOLS: Search    Summary   30-Day Summary   Pageview Totals  
SITE: Posting Guidelines   User Agreement   Visitors Chart   About This Site   Add URL  

Since 1999: 871060 pageviews on this page, 34188455 pageviews on the whole site.
Since 1996: 36603040 visitors to ncdsa.com, 263663 posts.
Log your best time!
  Contest Calendar!
 

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 1-25 of 7942 Add your own post! 






Your

ad

here

for

only

$10 per month!



request info



(Requires
12 month pre-pay.
Limited time offer!)
 
Wheel Reviews (7942 Posts)
Wheel Review
Karma 72MM
On 1/23/1998 Matt Pearl wrote in from ()

Fast, sticky, and they don't chunk or break up. Fat 72MM makes for a fun ride...

 
  Rate post 1005 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
75mm clear
On 1/11/1998 Bean wrote in from ()

I'm looking for some nice clear wheels around 75mm and
I want them to be nice soft(around 78a) and pretty grippy for carving
but I want to be able to slide a bit too. If anyone Knows of
wheels like this please write back.

 
  Rate post 973 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9 70mm wheels
On 1/4/1998 Bean wrote in from ()

I'v seen the sector 9 wheels, I think they look better than any other wheel but I want a wheel that is good for power slides and good for carving.

The bigger the better.

 
  Rate post 960 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Extreme S/S Wheels
On 12/29/1997 PuKa wrote in from ()

It Kix Man!! These Things Grip Like Hell..Ok Kden Again Buss!! Xtreme And Gravity In The House!!

 
  Rate post 947 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
GRAVITY SUPER G'S
On 12/14/1997 NICK wrote in from ()

90a 73mm KICK ASS POWERSLIDES

 
  Rate post 908 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Xtreme S/S wheelz
On 10/20/1997 David B. wrote in from ()

Does anybody have these wheels? How fats do they go? The reason I am wondering is because at the Kryptonics web site it says not to go over 30 mph and also I hear that the new ones burn up fast. How would you all compare the Xtreme S/S to kryptonics or any other wheel for that matter, and what is with the bearing being built into the wheels or hubcap that they have?


THANX,
David

please reply through email if possible (just click on my name above)

 
  Rate post 784 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Gravity 66mm Classic
On 10/5/1997 Adam wrote in from ()

Really sticky (78a?) clear urethane with a large chromed plastic core. These wheels carve hard but don't slide that well. They hold longer than Kryp 70s on clean, smooth pavement, but get a little unpredictable on less perfect surfaces.

 
  Rate post 744 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
XT Wheelz
On 9/5/1997 Damon wrote in from ()

these are the best off road wheelz you will ever have. i have had mine for about 2 1/2 years now and they are still good. you will never regrete buying these wheelz.
the web site is www.extremewheelz.com/
go check it out if you don't believe me.

PEACE OUT!!

 
  Rate post 664 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonics interstate 70's
On 8/5/1997 Nater wrote in from ()

Kickass, stylin things. They rip. Fast, smooth, sweet.

 
  Rate post 575 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonic Route 70
On 7/21/1997 Adam wrote in from ()

On the positive side, the new Kryps have larger cores that should resist meltdown on long fast runs better than their predecessors. They're also smoother and grippier than the orange 70s they replace. I found their slide predictable and easy to manage, yet they can really hold a line if you want them to. On the down side, they wear out far faster (maybe 4-5X faster) than the previous generation of Kryptonics. Even with the wear, they're now my favorite downhill carving wheel.

 
  Rate post 543 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonic Route 62's
On 7/18/1997 Grant wrote in from ()

I just picked up a set of these by chance when in London. 62mm diameter, seem to be about 78a rating. Clear red, with a very visible and techie looking hub seen trrough the urethane.
Great wheels, really grippy (so not ideal if into big slides). Soft quiet and deadly quick. Great all round cruising wheel. Perfect for hacking aroun the seafront in Brighton (uk) where I live.

 
  Rate post 538 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Krypto 65mm 78A
On 6/11/1997 slimline wrote in from ()

these wheels are the bomb. nice soft wheels with a good sized
footpad. super grippy. they come in cool colors too for those
that are concientious about those things.
you pay a price for the super grippiness...they can chunk
up on the inside edge if you are on rough pavement. the inside
of the wheel is not rounded. instead it has a more of a
straight edge bevel. but...compared to others around...well
worth the money

 
  Rate post 444 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Just a tip
On 5/30/1997 Scooter wrote in from ()

this is just a tip for those looking for wheels. I just go to
my local thrift shops and look for roller skates. If you can
find a pair with good wheels and bearings, then you come away
with two sets of wheels with bearings for about 7 bucks!

 
  Rate post 394 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonic C70
On 4/28/1997 Anthony wrote in from ()

Without question the best downhill/carving wheels i
have ever ridden. They are extremely soft, fast, and
virtually no rolling resistance. They hold an edge through
literally insane turns.Combined with a good set of ABEC 5's
or any other fast bearing you have an unstoppable set up.
On my Randals they carve beautifully.

 
  Rate post 282 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
HYPER Super Mundo
On 4/19/1997 Steve wrote in from ()

I learned a lot about wheels, working at the skate shop. My boss introduced me to the original Krypto 70's and Road Rider's with square edges. HYPER makes the Super Mundo...It's a rollerskate wheel which is designed to be very responsive pumping.
For longboards, the Super Mundo is exellent. The 72mm size is super smooth and 78a is great for asphalt. The square edges allow the board to "pop" back under you when you're punching turns.

 
  Rate post 256 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonics Cruise 65mm
On 4/19/1997 Dan wrote in from ()

I just got these and rode them in at the NCDSA meet today.
These wheels are clear red urethane with both the inner and
outer edges rounded.

Initially these wheels were amazingly sticky, but after a
couple of runs they broke in nicely and were very predictable
when dirfting/sliding through turns. The 78A urethane is kind
of soft though, as I had noticibly coned them after only 6 or 7
runs of hard turning. I think they would wear away quickly if
you were doing any serious power slides. All in all, though,
this is a very good wheel for sloloming down the steeps.

 
  Rate post 249 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Sector 9 70mm
On 4/16/1997 Mikkel wrote in from ()

These are great wheels. They're really soft wheels and good for carving. These are great longboarding wheels. They are very fast and do not skid out on you. I would recomend these to anyone who wants a fast quiet ride.

 
  Rate post 241 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
UFO 70mm 78a
On 3/21/1997 Bryan Heath wrote in from ()

I can't believe that nobody ever mentions these guys.They're another stoneage company with some great products.The company's founder is Ron Amos,a top street luger,and avery nice person.Their UFO 70's are the fastest wheels I've ever ridden,not to mention how smooth they are.I haven't heard from them in awhile,but if you get a chance,look them up.You won't be disappointed.Everyone take care,JESUS loves you!!

 
  Rate post 178 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Payaso Roadie Racers
On 3/2/1997 Andy wrote in from ()

These wheels are some of the stickiest and fattest wheels
I've ever seen. Being as sticky as tehy are and giving the
grip that they do, it makes power slides a little tougher.
By far my choice for cruising and downhill. Street riders
may prefer a little something different.
Highly recommended.

 
  Rate post 144 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Hyper Rollo (65mm, 78a)
On 3/2/1997 Dan wrote in from ()

Smooth quiet ride. Easily controlable with predictable handling. Similar to Kryptonics-- the core looks identical.

 
  Rate post 143 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Gordon & Smith Cruisers
On 12/25/1996 Richard wrote in from ()

Soft (around 80a I reckon) compound about 64mm diameter and not as wide as kryps reds, they are a good cruising wheel, not as fast as kryps and release sooner but being a bit smaller I like them on a cruising board rather than for downhill stuff. Again seem way better than the Black clouds. nice see through urethane to, took me back a few years.

 
  Rate post 74 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Formula One Black Clouds
On 12/25/1996 Richard wrote in from ()

Soft compound 78a and about 65mm diameter. In my opinion my red Kryps are way better. The clouds are not as fast, have an unpredictable slide at higher speeds and you have trouble with the spacers, the bearing seatings on mine were to close and I had to shave some of my spacers to fit. All in all stay with the Kryps.

 
  Rate post 73 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonic Turbo Racer 80mm 74A
On 12/22/1996 adam wrote in from ()

How do inline wheels work on a longboard? Not very well. Their grip is weak and the resulting slide wears them down quickly. I tried them as an experiment thinking that they would have low rolling resistance and be great for kicking the flatlands, but the Kryptonic C70s have a longer roll and a better ride.

 
  Rate post 64 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Xtreme Wheelz XT (off-road wheels)
On 12/20/1996 adam wrote in from ()

Very smooth, but heavy and way too soft for the street. Kryptonics are much faster and roll longer.

 
  Rate post 6 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(0)
  Flag Moderators (0)
Kryptonic C70 (Red)
On 12/7/1996 adam wrote in from ()

Still my favorite wheel after trying many othes. The C70s are incredibly smooth and fast and they provide predictable slide when carving. The ride these wheels give, especially on rougher surfaces, is unsurpassed.

 
  Rate post 3 !
Best-Of Ncdsa (0)
  Informative (0)
  Abuse(1)
  Flag Moderators (0)

Page to oldest posts   Page backwards 25 posts   Page forwards 25 posts   Page to newest posts     Posts 1-25 of 7942 Add your own post! 


Add your own Wheel Reviews post using this entry form
Topic:
Your Name:
Your Email: (optional)
Post:
Characters remaining:      Posts containing links are not allowed
Black box number:     (This number expires 6/25/2018 8:05:42 AM California time)
  (Linking to an image? Read this first)
Return to Menu

© Copyright 1996-2018 NCDSA - All Rights Reserved
Site-related comments to
webmaster@ncdsa.com
Site by Norcal Internet LLC